Log in
Sertoma Club
Richland Sertoma Club
Log in

Community Awards

The Richland Sertoma Club offers several major community awards each year. Primary among those is the Service to Mankind award, which is given to a member of the greater Columbia community who has donated unselfishly of his or her time and effort to improve the quality of life for those in need. This award goes to a non-Sertoman whose community work is on a volunteer basis.

2010-2011 Service Mankind Winner -Rick Hinely

Sertoma President Chris Weston and Linda Etheredge, 2011-2012 club president, present 2012 Wade Hampton District Service to Mankind Award to Angel Cruz.

2007 Freedom and Democracy Essay Contest Winners (left to right): Collins Bradshaw, First Place, Liam Monteith, Second Place, and Lisea Lark and Johnathan Gathers, Third Place.

Some of the past winners of the Service to Mankind award include: John Fling of John Fling Ministries, Sister Kathy Riley of the Women's Shelter and Hank Chart of Homeworks.

The club also offers an essay writing contest for 7th graders, awarding a $100 US Savings Bond to the best essay on "What Freedom Means to Me." This contest, in conjunction with National Heritage Month in February, is open to all 7th graders in the Richland and Lexington area. Read winning essays for 2009.

From Left: Jamie Crocker, Crayton; Ben Herring, Hand; Josh Bowman, Crayton; Donielle Golden, Sanders; Madeline Moorer, Crayton, winners of the Richland Sertoma Club Freedom and Democracy Essay Contest 2009.

During the annual high school football jamboree Sportsarama, held in late August, the club crowns Mr. and Miss Sportsarama, students who are chosen from those nominated by each participating high school. Those awards are judged on the basis of scholarship and school/community involvement.

Some of our award recipients:

Service to Mankind Award

 Year Recipient
2004-2005 Katherine Pettit
Dee Ann Jones
Joseph P. Arnot
George B. Cauthen
2008-2009 Roger Williams 
2009-2010 Dorothy Garrick
2010-2011 Rick Hinely
2011-2012 Angel Cruz
2012-2013 Barbara Shade

Winning Essays for Freedom and Democracy Award

 Year Recipient
2005-2006  Byle
 Collins Bradshow

Sertoman of the Year 

Club Winners

 2006-2007   Jack Sterne
 2007-2008    Steve Etheredge
 2008-2009  Fred Lamphere
 2009-2010  Whitney Woolfolk
 2010-2011  Mike Speer
 2011-2012  Jamie Spell
 2012-2013  Linda Etheredge

2007 Club President, Bill Todd (left), Wayne Zamora (center) acknowledges  Jack Sterne with the Wade Hampton District Sertoman of the Year award for 2005-2006.

Sertoma President Chris Weston presents 2012 Wade Hampton District Sertoman of the Year Award to Jamie Spell.

Richland Sertoma Club (c) 2013. All Rights Reserved.
Richland Sertoma is a chapter of SERTOMA Inc.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software